Vague White

The sunset is a vague phenomenon to observe:
In the beginning of daylight’s final breath, the sky is enveloped by an indistinct white haze. Nothing is certain, and all distinction of shape and sight is lost. All that remains through the brilliant, bright glow are the distant hums and wails of the ships on the lazy sea, floating away in lethargy on a seemingly aimless path, which makes me think of a proverb by Krishnamurti:
truth is a pathless land.
The diminishing visibility of these tired ships continues on a steady descent towards nothingness along the horizon as I am left to gaze and ponder, the direct and yet subtle sunlight painting my cheeks and nose with the same golden fairy dust that glistens across the surface of the scintillating sea. I am reminded of a sky filled with stars that burn to no avail amidst an artificially illuminated Earth, with no apparent purpose other than to exist. 
Oh, to be free and in love with this life!

If the Earth is my lover, then the sun is my father-in-law, and I love him just as deeply as I do every one of his creations upon which he unconditionally shines and bestows his warmth with not even the concept of judgment existing to taint his golden mind. I may die alone and without a human counterpart to express the workings of my mind and the feelings of my heart to, but as long as I have loved this wonderful Earth, and let this Earth love me, I will die in a state of content and without a single regret. And suddenly, in wondrous synchronicity with this beautiful revelation, the sun drifts into place behind the only clouded portion of the otherwise empty sky and creates a view so striking that my romantic ruminations are confirmed. He sprinkles a fine red dust over the strip of sea that lies beneath his cloud as my heart embraces the meaning of this moment. Everything is clear for a brief interlude, and then the sun drops below the huddled droplets of clouds and, once again, the horizon is submerged in that luminescent whiteness. The bellow of a barge is expelled from the formless ambiguity of the haze; a seemingly indifferent sunset to those who don’t allow themselves to be truly loved – not by their friends, families or partners, but by life. That affirmation of love is lost in a dream that we can reach whenever we want – if that is what we choose to do.

**Collage by Sir Clintavius**

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment